Tags

, ,

Meet Courtney!

Position: Social Media Intern

20120515-073735.jpg

Why were you given your particular name?
My parents claim they “just liked the name,” but I joke with them saying they just named me it cause it has “court” in it because my mother is a probation officer and loves law stuff; they deny this accusation, but I know the truth. Regardless, I’ve never really liked my name.

What is your favorite thing to do?
Shop and spend money! This gets me in trouble though….

What are three adjectives which describe you?
Faithful, genuine, and humble

How would your friend describe you to someone who has never seen you?
A loyal and trustworthy friend who they can talk to not just for for fun, but for advice and encouragement as well.

When you have an hour of free time, what do you like to do?
Honestly, I would like to say I work out, but in reality, I either stalk celebrities on Twitter, drool over everything I don’t have on Pintrist, refresh my Facebook page, and/or catch up on my favorite television shows. These are some of the reasons why I chose to be a communications major.

Have you been told, you look like someone famous?
By two random women, my aunt, cousin, and one of my friends, I was told I look like some soap actress who was on “One Life To Live.” Sadly, I was kind of insulted by this though.

Name a hidden talent you have.
It’s not really a secret, at least to my family, but I have been told I cook well.

What’s your motto in life?
Dream big, work hard, have faith in the Lord, and then hopefully those dreams will become reality.

Everyone loves an embarrassing story, what’s yours?
Oh goodness, I have more embarrassing stories than I want to remember. I will begin with this discloser: I was a weird child. One embarrassing moment is when I was in the fifth grade. I had seen some movie (cannot recall what movie it was), where the girl in the movie had a pet skunk. I was obsessed with this idea cause I thought the skunk was so cute and wanted one for myself. Being that I went to a Christian school, we had weekly prayer requests, so guess what I would request we pray for every week? Yes, that the Lord would bring me a pet skunk! What a dork, I know. Everyone looked at me like I was super weird and tried to argue with me saying that it’s not possible to have a pet skunk. So luckily, I am sure (or so I hope) no one remembers this, but I am so embarrassed by what a weird kid I was. To put the cherry on top, when we were trying to think of a class pet to get in 5th grade, I did not say skunk, but I said chinchilla. They all looked at me like I was super weird, yet again, and no one, including the teacher, knew what that was. I had to try and explain what a chinchilla is and tell them they are like $100s of dollars. Obviously we were not going to be getting an expensive high maintenance class pet. Yeah, another dorky 5th grade moment….

If you were stranded on a tropical island what 2 things would you want with you?
Fresh water (cause I will not drink salty, nasty ocean water) and a friend (so I am not bored out of my mind alone).

What are you most looking forward too during your time as an intern with us?
I hope to not only gain more knowledge on how the industry works while growing both professionally and personally, but to help Rooted In Love accomplish their goals for their social media outlets as well.

in Love,
The RiL Girls

