Tags

, , , , ,

Hello Everyone!

We are excited to introduce Ben and Emily.

In honor of their upcoming nuptials this weekend at the Muckenthaler Mansion in Fullerton, we wanted to create a pre-wedding spotlight for you all to get to know the lovely couple.


Photo Credit: Studio 28 Photo

When did you and Ben meet? And how?

Ben and I met in summer 2008 at Loyola Marymount University at our first day of “Teach For America Induction.” However, we did not really start talking or hanging out until October of that year.

Spill the beans, how did he pop the question?

Let me preface this question with a short story. My cousin Annie, who was a second grader at the time, had a “Flat Stanley” project and we were lucky enough to be included. We were given a picture cut out of Annie; so we took pictures of “Flat Annie” in front of awesome Los Angeles locations and other personal places. The day with “Flat Annie” was incredible and my first inkling that Ben and I were meant to be. Fast-forward 3 years. Ben, myself, and two of our friends (who later became the photographer and videographer of the proposal) were hiking with our dogs at Griffith Park. I was chatting away with my friend and took no notice when Ben pointed out the “spot with a great view.” Once we reached the top of the mountain, which overlooks Los Angeles, Ben suggested that we take a photo and that I should put the dog’s water bottle down. He then turned to me and said: “I have something to ask you.” My response was: “NO YOU DON’T!” With that sweet comment, he handed me a book he had made called, “The Story of Flat Emily.” As I read the story, I found “Flat Emily” looking for “Flat Ben” at all of the places that are important to real life Emily and real life Ben. At the end, “Flat Emily” finds “Flat Ben” exactly where we were standing. “Flat Ben” had realized that “Flat Emily” made him feel not so flat and that he would like to feel that way for the rest of his life. When I turned to the very last page in the book it read: “Will you marry me?” and when I looked up, Ben was on one knee and I said, “YES!” Needless to say, Ben is an incredibly thoughtful well-planned man.

What are some must haves & specific details for your wedding?

We must have a fun, lighthearted vibe that makes it clear to our guests how important they are to us.

What’s been the best part of being engaged?

The best part about being engaged is working together on creating a wedding day that is reflective of who we are.

Do you have any advice for future brides?

Enjoy the process! And make sure you find a reputable tailor!

What are your plans for your honeymoon?

I am in a good friend’s wedding 5 days after ours. Then we will be leaving for Barcelona on July 17th, where we will spend 3 amazing nights; after which, we will board a 12 night Mediterranean cruise!

As your wedding quickly approaches, which part of the big day are you most excited for?

I’m excited for ALL of it!

– We are so excited to help all of Ben and Emily’s wedding dreams come true this weekend, and wish them the best in the new life they are about to embark on together.

In Love,

The RiL Girls

