Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was the flower girl in my aunt’s wedding when I was 5, and lets just say my pictures did not come out as well as the one above. Growing up I was very close to my aunt, so when she was getting married, I was not a happy camper. I felt that my (soon-to-be) uncle was taking her away from me and I was not going to see her as often as I was used to. Therefore, on their wedding day, I not only refused to smile in all the pictures except for one, which I took with my parents, but I also laughed and messed around with my aunt’s other (soon-to-be) niece, who was the other flower girl, all the way down the aisle. Looking back now, I feel so bad for what I did. But what could I do? I was 5 and did not know any better.

I share this story with you as a helpful tip. I am not saying your flower girl will be a brat like I was by refusing to smile in pictures and mess around while walking down the aisle, but she may have a hard time understanding or accepting what it happening. If you have a close relationship with your flower girl, you may want to take her aside and reassure her that everything will be ok, you still lover her, and will see her as often as you can. Perhaps, you may even want to set a day aside to spend with her, for example, you can both get pedicures for the wedding together. I know as a soon-to-be-bride there is a lot on your mind, but I am sure your flower girl will be happy to know you did not forget about her. If your flower girl is from your (soon-to-be) husband’s side, maybe you can encourage him to set a day aside for her, so he can talk to her to reassure her he will still be there for her even though he is getting married.

Besides setting a day aside for the flower girl, here are cute ideas for her to dress in as well:

Tutu style dresses are popular for the flower girl. The look is cute, girly, and perfect for a young flower girl.

Cowboy boots are a great idea because they are closed toed and easy to walk in; not to mention, they look super cute as well!

Have her accessorize with gloves, jewelry, and/or a ribbon sash around the waist.

There are a lot of fun options for her hair also.

Though it is common, it never seems to get old; flower crowns will always remain beautiful for the flower girl’s hair.

Hair pins or barretts are easy to manage and look just as pretty as any other choice.

Headbands are great because they can be embellished with anything from flowers, to feathers, to pins, to crystal jewels.

Hats are a nice idea for an outside wedding in order to help keep the sun off her face.

She can feel like a princess by not only wearing a beautiful dress, but by wearing a lovely tiara in her hair as well.

These pigtail braids look adorable and are fast and easy to do. This can be a great alternative to curls, which may be hard for her to sit still for.

Lastly, we must not forget about the flower girl’s most important job, to be the pre-cursor to your big entrance!

If you are looking for an alternative to a traditional flower girl basket, she can carry something like a parasol, wands with ribbons to wave, or another unique wand (like seen above).

As an alternative to throwing petals, she can throw paper hearts, doves, horseshoes, four leaf clovers, leaves, sequins, etc.

These are great ideas, especially for a younger flower girl who may have a hard time carrying something in her hands; she can easily carry this by her wrist.

This is one of the cutest things I have seen! I love the idea of using a sign to introduce the bride!

Though I was not excited about my aunt getting married, I loved being in the wedding. I felt like a grownup in the dress and loved having curly hair. I found it to be a very memorable experience. Therefore, I believe your wedding day can impact your flower girl’s life more than you realize; I encourage you to make it as positive of an experience for her as possible.

In Love,

The RiL Girls

